STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN SUPREME COURT

C1-81-1206

ORDER AMENDING THE RULES
OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR
REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

The Minnesota Board of Law Examiners has requested that the Supreme Court
increase its allocated portion of the attorney registration fee by Three Dollars ($3.00).

The Court has reviewed the request and is fully advised in the premises,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

The attached amendments to the Rules of the Supreme Court for Registration of

Attorneys are adopted, prescribed and promulgated to be effective for registration fees

due July 1, 2003.

Dated: December 6 , 2002
BY THE COURT:

bl

Kathleen A. Blatz )
Chief Justice
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DEC 1 8 2002
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RULES OF THE SUPREME COURT FOR

REGISTRATION OF ATTORNEYS

Rule 2. Registration Fee

A. In order to defray the expenses of examinations and investigation for admission to
the bar and disciplinary proceedings, over and above the amount paid by applicants for
such admission, with exception hereinafter enumerated, each attorney admitted to
practice law in this state and those members of the judiciary who are required to be
admitted to practice as a prerequisite to holding office shall hereinafter annually pay to
the clerk of the appellate courts a registration fee in the sum of Twe-Hundred Fifteen
DeHars($215) Two Hundred Eighteen Dollars ($218) or in such lesser sum as the court

may annually hereafter determine.

Such fee, or portion thereof, shall be paid on or before the first day of January, April, July
or October of each year as requested by the clerk of the appellate courts.

All sums so received shall be allocated as follows:
$15 $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners
$10 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education
$120 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board
$12 to the Minnesota Client Security Fund
$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee
$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the
income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000) per year, shall
pay a registration fee in the sum of One Hundred Nirety-Dolars($196) One Hundred
Ninety-three Dollars ($193). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee
shall be reduced by Twenty-five Dollars ($25).
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B. The following attorneys and judges shall pay an annual registration fee of One
Hundred FourDolars($104) One Hundred Seven Dollars (§107):

(a) Any attorney or judge whose permanent residence is outside the State of

Minnesota and who does not practice law within the state;
(b) Any attorney while on duty in the armed forces of the United States.

The One-Hundred-Four Dollars({$164)- One Hundred Seven Dollars ($107) so

received shall be allocated as follows:

$15 $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners

$7 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education

$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

$50 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee

$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the
income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000) per year, shall
pay a registration fee in the sum of Seventy-nine-DeoHars{$79) Eighty-two Dollars ($82).

The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory Committee shall be reduced by Twenty-
five Dollars ($25).

C. Any Attorney who has not been admitted to practice for more than three years

shall pay an annual registration fee of Ninety-fourBDeHars($94) Ninety-seven Dollars
(897).

The Ninety-four Dellars($94) Ninety-seven Dollars ($97) so received shall be

allocated as follows:

$15 $18 to the State Board of Law Examiners
$10 to the State Board of Continuing Legal Education
$24 to the Lawyers Professional Responsibility Board

$12 to the Client Security Fund




$25 to the Legal Services Advisory Committee
$8 to the Lawyer Trust Account Board for a lawyers assistance program.

An attorney who certifies that his or her gross income from all sources, excluding the
income of a spouse, is less than Twenty-five Thousand Dollars ($25,000) per year, shall
pay a registration fee in the sum of Eighty-one-Dolars-and-fifiy-cents($31-50) Eighty-
four Dollars and fifty cents ($84.50). The allocation to the Legal Services Advisory
Committee shall be reduced by Twelve Doilars and fifty cents ($12.50).

D. Any attorney who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently
disabled, or who files annually with the clerk of the appellate courts an affidavit that he
or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the practice of law, shall be placed in a
fee-exempt category and shall remain in good standing. An attorney claiming retired or
permanently disabled status who subsequently resumes active practice of law shall

promptly file notice of such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and

pay the annual registration fee.

E. Any judge who is retired from any gainful employment or permanently disabled,
who no longer serves on the bench or practices law, and who files annually with the clerk
of the appellate courts that he or she is so retired or disabled and not engaged in the
practice of law, shall be placed in a fee-exempt category and shall remain in good
standing. A judge claiming retired or permanently disabled status who subsequently
resumes service on the bench or the active practice of law shall promptly file notice of

such change of status with the clerk of the appellate courts and pay the annual registration

fee.



